Partick Burgh Police was established in 1858. On 26 July of that year, the Commissioners appointed Paul McColl as Chief Constable. He resigned two years later and, on 10 December 1860, Andrew Edwards was appointed to the post. Chief Constable Edwards remained in office until he retired in January 1892.
The Deputy Chief Constable, Donald McAndrew, was appointed to succeed Andrew Edwards, but the appointment was not confirmed by the Secretary of State for Scotland, as Mr. McAndrew was over 45 years of age. This was the first time that an appointment had been made under the Police Pension Act of 1890, which set out the age limit for such posts. As a result, Mr. McAndrew had to remain as Deputy Chief Constable and William Cameron was appointed to head the force. The Partick Police office was situated in Anderson Street. As well as a Police Office, it also housed the Police Court and cells (photograph taken 1999).
Around the end of the 19th. Century, following the death of Queen Victoria, Partick Burgh Police adopted the peaked cap and discarded the helmet. The badges were changed to show King Edward's Crown.
William Cameron held the post of Chief Constable until 5 November 1912 when the force, numbering ninety-three officers was annexed to Glasgow Police and became 'L' or Partick Division.
Click here to return to "The First 100 Years"
Click here to return to "Into the 20th. Century"